ALBERT HERTER

‘BYE-BYE BANK OF AMERICA, ‘ by James Kwak at baselinescenario .com.

In Uncategorized on January 6, 2010 at 03:29

Bye-Bye, Bank of America

Posted: 05 Jan 2010 10:17 AM PST

As I was waiting for the very nice bank teller to give me my bank check for the balance in my account, the woman next to me was trying to tell her very nice teller that she did not want overdraft protection on her account. She was told she would have to wait fifteen minutes to talk to a “personal banker” to remove it. Weren’t big banks supposed to be more efficient?

My nice “personal banker” made the mistake of asking me why I was closing my account. So I told him:

One of my local banks refunds my ATM fees at other banks.

My other local bank pays 0.75% interest–on an ordinary checking account.

Bank of America breaks the law.

Bank of America closed two out of the three branches in my town.

Oh, and it’s too big, and presents a systemic risk to the U.S. economy.

Behind him was a sign encouraging people to use their debit cards to pay for purchases to take advantage of a “savings” program that moves what is already your own money from your checking account to your savings account.

Afterward I went out for a martini even though it was just before noon. Yes, changing your bank account is a hassle. But the satisfaction is worth it.

By James Kwak

Leave a Reply

